News‎ > ‎

Pioneer Valley Excellence in Teaching Award Winners

posted Feb 3, 2012, 10:09 AM by Dianne Georgantas
 It is with great pleasure that I announce the winners of the Pioneer Valley Excellence in Teaching Award.  First, it should be noted that we had an extraordinary pool of candidates- all deserving of tribute.  It was a pleasure for me to hear about the excellent teaching and collaborating that is happening in schools around the district.
Following the established criteria and guidelines, the Selection Committee met Tuesday, January 31, 2012 and chose four winners: three awards went to experienced teachers who have been teaching here for more than three years, and one award was given to a beginning teacher who is his/her first three years of teaching in Longmeadow.
The Committee was impressed with all of the nominees, and will invite all of the candidates to a special Longmeadow breakfast to be held before school ends this year.
Congratulations to Longmeadow's Pioneer Valley Excellence in Teaching  Award Winners!

Experienced Teacher Awards:

Marilee Trompke at Williams Middle School

 Paula Ruyffelaert at Blueberry Hill School


Susan Peters at Longmeadow High School 


Beginning Teacher Award:

Kathleen Derosier at Center Elementary School 


Please extend your congratulations to our respected colleagues.  Finally, a special thank you to each and every member of our staff for your dedication and the extraordinary work that you do on a daily basis.


Marie H. Doyle